Candidacy Deadline Approaching for Muskegon Heights City Council/Mayoral Elections

Andrew Trzaska | August 9, 2011

Next Tuesday’s deadline to file to run for Mayor or City Council of Muskegon Heights is fast approaching.

At 4 p.m. on August 16, no more candidacies will be accepted for the four positions up for election this November.

Three city council positions and the mayor’s office will be voted on this November, each serving a two-year term.

Currently, the council positions held by Kimberly Sims, Charmaine Green and Dorothy Scott are up for election.

Council members Keith Guy, Bonnie McGlothin and Mayor Pro Tem Willie Watson are not up for re-election this year.

Aside from the 4 p.m. deadline on Tuesday, August 16, certain residency requirements are needed to run for the positions.

City Clerk Sharon Gibbs noted that to be a valid candidate, one must be a resident of the City of Muskegon Heights for at least one year before Election Day.

As of close of business Monday, four people not currently holding offices have submitted their candidacies.

Two have submitted for city council seats. The other two have submitted their candidacies for mayor.

No word was available that the time of publication whether all four elected officials would be seeking their same positions.

Final lists of candidates will be available after next Tuesday’s dealine.

All positions are at-large, meaning that different neighborhoods do not vote on different candidates than other areas of the city.

Voting locations in November will be divided across six precincts, numbered 2-7.  Their locations are the same as in previous elections, and are listed below:


Precinct 2            Roosevelt School

Precinct 3            East Loftis School

Precinct 4            Glendale School

Precinct 5            Lindbergh School

Precinct 6            Sacred Heart School

Precinct 7            MLK Early Childhood Academy


To determine what precinct you live in, visit Muskegon Heights City Hall or contact the City Clerk’s office.

Andrew Trzaska

103.7 “The Beat” – local government beat reporter and political analyst